Leather + Tutu

black leather jacket YourStyle | rust color tube H&M | wide crocodile skin belt Alexandria | tutu skirt Taobao | vintage pumps iShoes

Always have everlasting fascination with ballerinas, for me they signify strength, exceptional grace and elegance on stage as they leap and do signature pirouette moves. However, never learned ballet not because I had no time or opportunity just felt at young age dancing is not for me. It was my younger sister who then enrolled in any ballet classes and had a lovely pink tutu, leotards and flats on. Instead, I took piano lessons. It was 18 years ago.

Moving forward, Saturday was date night with hubby. Its been a while since we had a hearty good meal. So this is what I wore when we dined to our favorite Indian restaurant. Its the closest ballerina feel I can ever get having to wear a knee-length black tutu like skirt, sadly it was not as puffy as Carrie Bradshaw did. While the belt was due to reading Erzullie blog on creating plus size ‘waist’ shape. The leather jacket won hubby’s vote though I like to pair my outfit with a suit, but he insisted leather is a better choice to make whole look fun, edgy and less formal-ish. He was right, just one thing I can’t stop thinking of Grease; feels like I am reincarnating Sandy Olsson.

How about you, have you ever dressed like someone else? Who inspires you to step out in your best outfit statement?

